Video links

There are some nice little videos out there that are both short and sweet for sewists and quilters alike, and I warmly recommend these!

First up is a 2:47-minute long video, The Story of The True Colors Collection, featuring the designers behind the True Colors collections manufactured by Free Spirit Fabric. They are, in alphabetical order, Heather Bailey, Joel Dewberry, Anna Maria Horner, and Jenean Morrison. While the video was made in collaboration with Creativebug in 2013, I’ve seen some of the fabrics in online shops still.

Next we have Sarah Fielke in collaboration with Craftsy in an 8:58-minute long video, Hand Quilting With Perle Cotton with Sarah Fielke, Quilting Instructor for Craftsy.com, and I felt like my quilting life changed dramatically when watching it about a couple of weeks ago for the first time. I found her own blog post, Yes, I Hand Quilt, about this tutorial and it’s evident how much she loves hand quilting.

Turns out Sarah quilts with Aurifil 12wt now, which is a 12-weight thread quite similar to perle, but in her experience the Aurifil thread remains less influenced by the constant pulling through the fabric and batting layers (discussion on Instagram). And lucky me, it’s the very thread box that I won last year, containing Victoria Findlay Wolfe’s spool selection. Now I only need a needle threader and a thimble, because I recently got the quilting hoop and good needles.

And here’s a 2:13-minute video called Stash Busters with Jacquie Gering by Craftsy:

I hadn’t seen that one before, and then discovered a bunch more to watch in the side column.

Often I find myself enjoying visual content quite a bit, in particular since I can just relax and watch, rather than actively read blogs etc. Do you prefer one over the other?

I’ve also heard things on Instagram about Periscope, but at some point I read there wouldn’t be sort of an archive for viewing old videos. Can someone confirm or contradict this? Are you on Periscope yourself? Would it be useful for crafters as tutorials? Or would Youtube still be the way to go?

Leave a comment