Tokyo Subway Map QAL – Week 6 White background (2 of 3)

Nina With Freckles - Tokyo Subway Map QAL week 6 background

Tokyo Subway Map QAL - Button 2015-08-05 500pxLet’s talk white today! We’ve reached week 6 (5.-11.10.2015) of Tokyo Subway Map QAL, which means it’s the second week of cutting for the background.

My guess is most people choose a white for the quilt-top background, but there are many whites. Do you have any favourites? How about manufacturers?

To mention one example, I really like the Bonnie & Camille fabrics by Moda, but the background isn’t white-white, but rather a creamy white. You know? In Kona solids by Robert Kaufman, this seems to correspond to the Snow hue. I have a little cut of it for a WIP, but my preference without question is Kona White, when placing the two next to each other.

I’ve heard somewhere that the inuits of Greenland have a huge bunch of names for different shades, tints, and tones of white hue (I suppose there’s just one white hue? never had this thought before). Perhaps it’s a myth only, but then again when I look at my own home, there are so many colours of white that I couldn’t possibly count them all.

What do you think of white in general? If you add a bit of a hue to it, do you prefer a warmer or cooler version of it? “Version” seems like the word to choose now :)

Cutting the pieces for week 6:

  • A second third of the background

How is your quilt coming along?

4 thoughts on “Tokyo Subway Map QAL – Week 6 White background (2 of 3)

  1. nevynevster

    hi Nina – I have cut 340 squares of white so far! I have gone for Moda solids in porcelain in the end. Partly because I have not used Moda much before and people have recommended it plus I had 2 jelly rolls of it already so it has made cutting a LOT faster. The white squares are the least interesting to cut I find … the others at least were quite fun selecting the different patterns. I heard that you can do a version of this quilt where you cut the white parts as blocks rather than individual squares but I guess that would make piecing difficult?

    Reply
    1. Nina With Freckles Post author

      Hi Nevy, so sorry about the slow response! I’m ill right now and feeling not on top of the world. Thanks so much for stopping by!

      Well done on your progress, it’s inspirational. Moda solids feel very nice to the touch, but I think I sort of got stuck with Kona due to the lower price and the colour card. I know Moda has come out recently with their own paint-chip kind of card, but now it would be a bit challenging to switch just like that. But I do love the quality of their fabrics, though!

      I have to take a look at swatches online to get an idea of what porcelain would look like, but immediately it sounds a bit warm?

      Precuts would probably have been a great idea when cutting for the largest sizes! Good tip, thanks for sharing. The pro to cutting the background is that you don’t have to think, but can simply keep cutting. I find such repetitive work very calming at times.

      I think Sophie has found a way to cut differently, and I would have preferred to cut like that, too, but in pixel quilts it’s always the dilemma of whether to cut small, even sizes, or very customised. (I have a pixel quilt in my not-very-far future…)

      Reply
      1. nevynevster

        Sorry to hear that Nina- hope you feel better soon! I’m unable to count so i am now waiting on some more jelly rolls to finish my whites! Porcelain is a little warm I think – it’s off white anyway which I think it is a little easier to work with when matching with fabrics. Just my opinion.

        Reply
        1. Nina With Freckles Post author

          Thanks! I’m finally sort of back. Will post this week’s very late stuff shortly.

          Have you received the jelly rolls yet? Or is it from abroad? I have to check out Porcelain, I do like the slightly warm whites as well. Thanks for the tip.

          Reply

Leave a Reply

