TOKYO SUBWAY MAP QAL – WEEKS 17 AND 18 BLOCKS 22, 23, 24 AND 25

Tokyo Subway Map QAL - Button 2015-08-05 500pxHello Tokyoites, this is your last prompt for the quilt top, covering weeks 17 and 18 of the Tokyo Subway Map Quilt-Along! I’m very sorry about being overdue posting the prompts. Hopefully you’ve already finished sewing, if you were keeping the speed, and if not, this is the perfect time to get back in the game, after the holidays.

I have yet to receive more of the background fabric, but I’m crossing my fingers it’ll arrive in the coming week.

Sewing the week 17 and 18 blocks:

  • Block 22
  • Block 23
  • Block 24
  • Block 25

How has your progress been? Even? Bursts of activity followed by times of making other things? What do you think of the pattern?

For me personally, it’s been a wonderful way to rummage through my stash, since I don’t sew in a manner that creates huge amounts of scraps, but then again I’ve noticed how some colours are less represented than others. For instance dark green is rather measly a part of my stash! The pattern itself is a great practice in consistency, no matter what seam allowance one has chosen.

Do you have other thoughts and comments? I wish you a wonderful new year and will check the hashtag again on Instagram in the next couple of days!

6 thoughts on “TOKYO SUBWAY MAP QAL – WEEKS 17 AND 18 BLOCKS 22, 23, 24 AND 25

  1. Kristine

    I have worked in “bursts” of activity, for sure, with other projects in between. I made 3 Christmas stockings to match the tree skirt I made over the summer, so that put this project on hold. I also had to stop and make a small thread/scrap catcher because I was overflowing the one I was using several times during cutting sessions. On Thursday, I cut the remaining 604 white background squares (and filled up the new catcher!), so cutting is done and sewing can now begin!

    My background fabric is made up of 3 or 4 different shades of white, but since it’s a scrap quilt, I’m not going to worry about it! Today, I am planning on dividing up the colored squares into stacks of which block they go into…partly to make sure I have truly cut enough squares, and also because I changed up a couple of the colors to match what I had in my stash, so I need to go through the pattern and make sure I put the correct colors in the correct line.

    I am not going to press my seams open. That is way too much work, especially after I recently made 2 large quilts with seams pressed open. Since then, I’ve discovered glue basting and I will be doing that with this quilt. It’s a wonderful technique and even though it seems time consuming, it helps with accuracy and also keeping the squares lined up properly.

    I’m more excited with this now that I’m done cutting! That is a big relief!

    Reply
    1. Nina With Freckles Post author

      Fantastic progress, Kristine! I’m so pleased on your behalf that you’re done cutting. Even if it is straight from yardage, and techniques to speed up the process are used, the task is laborious.

      I think using more than one white is in the spirit of this pattern. If you mix them up entirely, it’ll also create a very subtle pixel effect, which in itself is super cool! Can’t wait to see your finished quilt :)

      Reply
      1. Kristine

        I like the idea of the “pixelated” effect, Nina! Today, I managed to get all of the colored squares divided into their places and I now have 25 bags – one for each block. It was definitely a necessary step for me since I changed up a few of the lines (e.g., the “light blue” line in the pattern is really my green-blue line) and wanted to be certain that I sewed everything together correctly. I actually laid out block 1 and glue basted the rows, but then got a phone call which lasted nearly an hour, so I will work on it soon. Unfortunately, I’m coming down with a cold (bad sore throat today), so if I’m feeling up to it, I will sew a little tomorrow.

        Reply
          1. Kristine

            I am feeling better, thank you. It was a bad cold and I missed an entire week of work. The worst part was that I nearly had no voice (and my job involves talking on the phone to patients all day), and then there was the cough. I sounded like I had swallowed a squeaky toy! I actually still have a dry cough, especially at night. However, I did work on this quilt quite a bit just so that I wasn’t sitting around all day long. I am actually glue basting now and am on block 12, so I have 7 blocks ready to sew.

            I also decided to invest in a Sizzix cutting machine. I didn’t know much about those before, and I’m sure I’ll kick myself for not getting it before this quilt! But, it’s my birthday present and I’m going to get started on some half square triangle mini wall quilts for my sewing room. I’m going to QuiltCon in Pasadena, CA, next month, so I’m sure to have lots of inspiration.

            Okay, back to gluing and sewing!

            Reply
            1. Nina With Freckles Post author

              Glad to hear you’re doing better! Colds and cough and sore throats suck so bad. Oh, I’ll be interested in hearing what you think of the machine. I’ve only seen pictures of stuff that comes out of all those template thingies, and imagine for instance appliqué being super nice with the help of modern technology. Have fun sewing :)

              Reply

Leave a Reply

