TOKYO SUBWAY MAP QAL – WEEK 14 BLOCKS 15, 16 AND 17

Nina With Freckles - Tokyo Subway Map QAL week 14 main 2015-11-30

Tokyo Subway Map QAL - Button 2015-08-05 500pxYikes, almost forgot to post today! Ahem, welcome to week 14 (30.11.-6.12.2015) of Tokyo Subway Map QAL! :)

So, like I mentioned I’ve run out on white fabric, but I wanted a nice, crisp photo of my blocks (9 and 10 need pressing still, hence the gap) to show my progress. But of course the days have been rather dark and dreary, almost like someone knew I wanted to take a photo… Tut tut. Perhaps you can get a general idea despite the slightly overexposed impression due to extensive tweaking? It was SO MUCH FUN to lay out all the blocks on the floor! There are some places here and there where my points are off with a hair, but never mind, it’s going to look brilliant once done!

Sewing the week 14 blocks:

  • Block 15
  • Block 16
  • Block 17

How is it going at your end? Nevy mentioned sewing only on weekends, which seems to be working beautifully for her – because she’s a bit ahead, can you believe? Star student *smiles widely* Heh, sorry, I’m just a bit envious.

And just because I had the camera airing out, another photo!

Nina With Freckles - Tokyo Subway Map QAL week 14 closeup 2015-11-30

Have you thought of making another quilt of the same pattern in the future? Or is this it? I think this will be my one and only, because there’s so much work in both cutting and sewing, even when the technique is suitable for a complete beginner, too. Happy December as per tomorrow!

8 thoughts on “TOKYO SUBWAY MAP QAL – WEEK 14 BLOCKS 15, 16 AND 17

  1. Kristine

    We just got back from our holiday in Yosemite today, but I did think about quilting while I was there…something about getting away from work and other responsibilities, I guess. I’m thinking about taking a break from Facebook and focusing on low-tech things like sewing and reading. Hoping to get back to this quilt next weekend!

    Reply
    1. Nina With Freckles Post author

      Hi Kristine, I think breaks are good, even short ones. And it helps to go offline, too, be it at home or not. Glad to hear some excitement in your voice!

      I barely log into Facebook currently, it seems to go in bursts anyway, and also I’ve read quite a bit lately, something I used to do a lot as a kid. When starting uni, I wanted to do anything but read in my leisure and I got stuck in that mode for years.

      Reply
      1. Kristine

        I made a lot of progress today and completed the last 4 lines, so all I have left is 2/3 of the background. My background whites may be slightly different – I found 3 different “white” solids in my stash, of which 2 seem to match, but it’s hard to be sure. I don’t think it will matter because it’s a scrap quilt, after all. I hope I can get the background cut this weekend so I can start piecing soon. I just ordered a large cone of thread for piecing….1,600 squares may use a lot of thread!

        Reply
  2. nevynevster

    Wow looks awesome Nina – it is so exciting laying it out isn’t it!

    I was only very marginally ahead I have to confess. So was on block 16 last weekend so I still need to complete 1 more block to keep up for this week so it’s hardly a big achievement!

    I can’t believe you are asking about another (although I’ve already had 1 request for a repeat) … it reminds me of the time I finished a half marathon and at the finish line they were handing out leaflets for a marathon in a few months. I nearly punched the lady … I was like I am NEVER doing that again let alone a full one! Heehee

    N

    Reply
    1. Nina With Freckles Post author

      Hiya :) Thanks!

      This is the last week with three blocks, so from now on we have only two per week. I don’t think anyone has pressed through with three a week, because most people have other projects going on simultaneously.

      Oh, I surprised you, did I? Heh, well, it just occurred to me that I should be more present in the moment when sewing, and this time it included reflecting on whether I’d be happy to repeat this pattern or not. If no, then savour each moment. And if (maybe) yes, also savour it. I’m reluctant to speed through one project after the other, because it just kills things for me.

      Congrats on finishing an HM! I have yet to run formal races, and a 10K is probably what I’d manage right now. But I do have both the HM and marathon on my life list.

      Reply
      1. nevynevster

        10k was my favourite distance. I sadly had to stop running for a long time for various health reasons but am starting again slowly. At about 2.5 k and working up. I found training for races very motivational As I am quite lazy about training by myself! There were lots of friendly low key events near me so I was lucky

        Reply
    1. Nina With Freckles Post author

      Hi Angie, welcome to my blog! Please do join us, we are far from done :) Some people are cutting still and others, like myself, are taking involuntary breaks. I’ll keep posting until all blocks have been prompted, but I’m sure several will finish the quilt top later.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

