TOKYO SUBWAY MAP QAL – WEEK 12 BLOCKS 11 AND 12

Nina With Freckles - Tokyo Subway Map QAL week 12 2015-11-16

Tokyo Subway Map QAL - Button 2015-08-05 500pxHello! Welcome to week 12 (16.-22.11.2015) of Tokyo Subway Map QAL! I finally got a turquoise fat quarter in the mail. Perhaps you noticed that in the original draft I had included a turquoise line, whereas when cutting, there was only dark blue and light blue?

Well, turns out the light blue line in the original pattern goes in both top and bottom part of the quilt, whereas the bottom part is turquoise in the updated pattern now for sale. I wanted the variation and changed the number of light blue prints and solids to accommodate a shorter line. But of course I didn’t have a turquoise solid yet, so that had to be ordered, but it’s arrived now and I’m very pleased.

The plan was to order Kona White at the same time, but the shop had run out on it, and I need to wait a while until ordering more, so it might be that the little I have left will run out this week. Preferably I’d buy a whole bolt of it, a girl can dream, can’t she ;) Hickups happen, but luckily it isn’t a huge one this time.

Sewing the week 12 blocks:

  • Block 11
  • Block 12

Did you have a productive weekend? Everything all right? Or dreadfully behind? Holler and the cavalry will arrive!

4 thoughts on “TOKYO SUBWAY MAP QAL – WEEK 12 BLOCKS 11 AND 12

  1. nevynevster

    These fabrics are really pretty – I love those colours. I have done blocks 11& 12 now and am firmly on track. I am trying to really maximise what I do at the weekends as I have little time in the week and I have paused all other WIPs to focus on this! Do you know we are almost half way through! hurray

    Reply
    1. Nina With Freckles Post author

      Hi Nevy :) Indeed we are, but in regards to piecing only, because QAL-wise it’s already over halfway through, amazingly enough. I think sometimes it’s easier to go in full batch-sewing mode, like you seem to do on weekends, and it still appeals to me.

      Taking photos in good lighting is my trouble right now, but I should be able to add more midway photos soon enough. It’s just so depressing to look at dark, grainy pictures :)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

