Tokyo Subway Map QAL – Week 3 Light blue, dark blue and violet lines

Nina With Freckles - Tokyo Subway Map Quilt week 3 fabrics 2015-09-14

Tokyo Subway Map QAL - Button 2015-08-05 500px Hello, hello and welcome to week 3 (14.-20.9.2015) of Tokyo Subway Map QAL! This week is all about light and dark blues as well as violets, purples, you name it. Throw in teal and plum, too, if you like :)

How is your stash looking, by the way? I’ve had a discussion with a lovely lady, who mentioned being a bit short on certain hues, but on the other hand having quite a few browns and tans, and while the original pattern calls for rainbow and greyscale colours, why not make it your own, if your preference is different? There’s absolutely no need to feel like you have to sew a replica of the original, if you think you would enjoy other colours more.

As for my solids, as part of a birthday gift, I purchased a modest bundle of Kona cottons to be used in this project (my stash of solids is measly still), and it finally arrived last week along with the fabrics for Farmer’s Wife 1930s QAL – which as a matter of fact has launched today!

But first, the prompt for this week.

Cutting the lines of week 3:

  • Light blue
  • Dark blue
  • Purple

And now my Tokyo solids, I think I’m in love with Kona…

Nina With Freckles - Tokyo Subway Map Quilt - Solids 2015-09-14

Since the selection as mentioned isn’t huge, I’ve decided to use the same fabric for all solid patches. I tried to pick hues that would be sort of averages compared to the prints I have, but in the end it really doesn’t matter that much, I suppose.

What’s your decision on them? Have a large stash of solids yet? And how is the cutting going?

4 thoughts on “Tokyo Subway Map QAL – Week 3 Light blue, dark blue and violet lines

  1. Sophie

    I cannot believe I am typing this, but all my colors are cut and all I have lleft are black and white. I don’t usually work this way and I suspect that when I start putting the blocks together I will find I want something different and continue digging into my stash for alternates.

    Reply
    1. Nina With Freckles Post author

      Hi Sophie, what fantastic news! You really are on a roll, congrats :) Nothing wrong in switching out as you go, though, and luckily these squares are of a size that you can still work with in another project, should you so desire.

      It’s not how I usually work either, but on the other hand, I often get stuck somewhere simply because I’ve moved on with a part of the project yet not finished for instance cutting for the remainder. To me it feels like a relief not to begin sewing (1600 squares…) before all pieces are ready to go.

      Reply
  2. Nevy

    I sympathize with the lady who doesn’t have the right colours in her stash as I am the same but I would add that the colours are the official colours for the actual metro map for Tokyo. One thing I am thinking about is just using say a few beige squares amongst the yellow so it is still recogniseably yellow.

    Reply
    1. Nina With Freckles Post author

      Hi Nevy, thanks for stopping by! :) You’re right about the official colours, and the idea to mix beige with yellow is fantastic! I believe the lady in question had a lacking stash in regards to some other colour, though, in which case beige (or another) would replace entirely what’s lacking.

      But in the end, I think what matters the most is that we personally are happy with what we make, and if it means shaking up something established, then that decision might be the thing between not using and using the object in question. And I for one haven’t even been to Tokyo, so I have to take your word for it :D

      Reply

Leave a Reply

