Farmer’s Wife 1930s QAL – My fabric palette

Nina With Freckles - Farmer's Wife 1930s QAL  fabric palette

The Farmer’s Wife 1930s QAL, written about in July, will be a theme for quite some time and so it is all right that I’m a bit slow in the beginning. I made a fabric palette for Kona solids a while ago, but only placed my order yesterday. It was late and I was lazy enough not to dig out my color card chips, which means it will be interesting to see what the bundle looks like once I’ve received it.

On Pinterst, I found a bunch of inspirational photos (and supposedly they have been all right to pin. I don’t care much for policing adults and checking where they found something, whether there’s a copyright or not, but have to trust humanity enough to think that a pinned thing was okay to be pinned. Anyway, if there’s a copyright on one or several of the included photos, just yell and I’ll be happy to do something about it!)

So, the palette. I imported the photos into the iDraw app, made a grid of them, and started choosing colours. Screens are different and so are the colours on them, but hopefully what I saw in the shopping cart – a rather harmonious bunch of fabrics :) – will look as delicious in person.

The reason for my choosing a totally different style than the 30’s reproductions and feedsack prints is that I think they are cute, but in my home they simply wouldn’t fit. There I prefer mostly a clean, Nordic style with lots of white, splashes of solids or rather sleek patterns, and that’s it. I wouldn’t mind a girly, cutesy craft room, though, as long as I can close the door on the at times overwhelming colour party :) Lately, I’m thinking it may have something to do with the INFJ + HSP (Meyers-Briggs personality type and ‘highly sensitive person’ profile), because in particular HSPs can be overwhelmed by various sensory input, of which the visual kind is one version.

The status currently, in other words, is that I’m waiting on a pile of fabrics to be delivered, and then it’s chop time. Have you jumped on-board yet?

Leave a Reply

