Tokyo Subway Map QAL

Tokyo Subway Map QAL - Button 2015-08-05 500px

Hello everyone, I have a happy announcement to make! I’ve decided to host a quilt-along starting in September and progressing at a weekly pace until New Year’s. What’s the pattern in question, you ask? Tokyo Subway Map Quilt by Elizabeth Hartman, of course! It’s been in the making for such a long time already, but scraps don’t seem to get cut at all, even though I have this fine system of keeping track of them, so I’m starting from scratch.

If you don’t have the pattern yet, you can find it in her shop, although I’ll be using the pattern I have from her original quilt-along blog posts. This pattern allows for only one size to be made, but the expanded version for sale now includes a few different sizes. No matter which one you choose, you can still join in, as the amount of patches will be the same.

The picture above doubles as the quilt-along button, which you’re welcome to grab and put on your blog for quick access. It’s 500 px wide, so you can resize it to whatever size works for your blog template. I’ve made a page to corral all posts related to the QAL, so please link to it directly. You can find it in the Quilt-Alongs drop-down menu, too.

The thinking-out-loud half-official announcement I made some days ago on Instagram included the schedule I’ve worked out for us, but please see it as a general guideline only. I know some people have already moved on from cutting to sewing blocks, yet haven’t finished all of them, and everyone is welcome no matter where they are in the process.

Nina With Freckles - Tokyo Subway Map QAL schedule on IG 2015-08-08

It’s just a teaser to visually convey the subway-line colours, but I’ll share a proper schedule once we begin. The point was to communicate that there will be room for other projects simultaneously, since this is a rather large undertaking, and participants might have swap quilts, end-of-year gifts, and other on-going stuff to make.

Cutting of scraps is also more laborious than when dealing with neat yardage, so while eight weeks for this first stage may seem excessive, I’d rather have us finish sooner than expected, than archive this into yet another work-in-progress box.

I think I used the expression “reasonable speed” on Instagram and this includes the sewing stage. If we get approximately two blocks done per week out of 25, we could finish the quilt top somewhere around New Year’s Eve. Not too shabby!

To wrap things up, I’ll remind you that there’s already an existing hashtag on Instagram for this quilt, #TokyoSubwayMapQuilt, so let’s use that one.

So what do you say? Are you in? I think it’s going to be such a wonderful project to deal with some of those scraps we seem to be producing constantly!

2 thoughts on “Tokyo Subway Map QAL

  1. sophie

    I saved the directions from the original QAL with a plan for someday … your QAL may be the push I need to start sifting through my scraps and make that plan a reality.

    Reply
    1. Nina With Freckles Post author

      Hi Sophie, sorry about the slow approval of your comment! I’d be happy to have you join the quilt-along :)

      I also have saved the original directions and will work from them. It seems like the pattern is the same, although a few more sizes have been added to the one for purchase now.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

