Farmer’s Wife 1930s QAL

Laurie Aaron Hird - The Farmer's Wife 1930s Sampler Quilt

Thursday links today is a bunch of them related to a single, exciting project! Kerry of verykerryberry wrote a book review the other day of “The Farmer’s Wife 1930s Sampler Quilt” by Laurie Aaron Hird, and it looks so delicious! Kerry has now announced a quilt-along (QAL) starting in September and lasting approximately a year. There will be two blocks announced per week, one by Kerry herself and the other by a guest blogger. The hashtag for the QAL is #fw1930sqal.

verykerryberry - FW1930sQAL

Since I don’t have this book yet, I went ahead and ordered it from The Book Depository, which has free worldwide shipping. The price was also lower than that on Amazon, and since the book contains printable templates for foundation paper piecing on a cd, it isn’t available in Kindle format.

So will you join? With its 99 blocks, it’s a long project of course, but my hypothesis is that I need structure in the shape of regular progress, or I just float a bit aimlessly through my craft projects. Also, I won’t be using reproduction fabrics, but I’ll go ahead with a custom Kona palette instead, to make it more my own quilt.

5 thoughts on “Farmer’s Wife 1930s QAL

  1. Kay

    I have joined the QAL on the Quilting board but I am already behind as I waited for the book and getting some fabrics together -I think I better swap to Kerry’s if it’s starting in September!

    Reply
    1. Nina With Freckles Post author

      Hi Kay, sorry about the slow approval of your comment! Kerry’s QAL will start tomorrow, I think :)

      I have decided on my colour palette, but no fabrics are ordered yet, so my start date will be later in September, I think.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

