WordPress tutorial series – Part 3 The size of blog photos

Nina With Freckles - WordPress tutorial series 3 2015-07-25

It’s time for the third tutorial in the WordPress series of little, nifty tricks. Today we’ll talk about the size of blog photos in relation to the blog template.

You may have noticed that I used collage photos in my Block 8 IQCB tutorial, which were clickable. The width of the blog template I’m using allows for 625 px wide pictures and photos to be displayed, but not wider than this. And since each collage photo was relevant, I wanted everyone to be able to see closer what was going on, so the solution was to make a live link out of them, to be opened in a new browser tab for closer inspection. (See part 1 in this WordPress tutorial series for the meaning of live links in this context.) Then you would find a 1000-px wide collage.

So how do you find out the width of pictures allowed by your template? Let’s look at an example, a kitty photo found on Flickr in the public domain (I can’t bring myself not to link to the source). I downloaded the “large” size of it, which is 2048 px wide.

When adding media, before inserting the photo into the blog post, I see the following:

Nina With Freckles - WordPress tutorial series - Blog photo size 1 2015-07-25

The template suggests the Size “Large” and tells me that the width will be 625 px. This happens as default each time I upload a photo, and it is the maximum width of graphic material that I can add. Wider than 625 px will still show as 625 px.

When I click on the drop-down menu, I will see this:

Nina With Freckles - WordPress tutorial series - Blog photo size 2 2015-07-25

The original size is called Full Size in this case, 2048 px.

Since my blog template won’t allow me to upload for viewing anything wider than 625 px, I usually resize everything to keep the space used smaller (and keep the original, too). I’m far from maxed out regarding storage space still, but stuff will also load quicker at the reader’s end, when photos aren’t humongous (I think, but please correct me if I’m wrong here!).

So what happens when I choose to upload Full Size, yet don’t make a live link (Link To: None)? This:

Flickr José Angel de la Banda - Classy 2048 px

And when I choose Full Size as well as Link To: Media File:

Flickr José Angel de la Banda - Classy 2048 px

Thinking back to the Block 8 IQCB earlier, the options will give you the possibility to display close-ups if necessary. I hope you see my train of thought here? Please ask if I didn’t express myself clearly enough, and I’ll try again!

* * * * *

Earlier in the series:

2 thoughts on “WordPress tutorial series – Part 3 The size of blog photos

Leave a Reply

