Scandibee February blocks

NWF Scandibee February blocks 2015-03-24

The February blocks for Scandibee Queen Bee Lizzie were a tad more challenging to make, compared to the January blocks, but on the other hand I jumped with eagerness into my scrap basket.

Lizzie asked for two 12.5”x12.5” blocks with red fabrics in the background, made according to the Spiderweb block tutorial by Em of Sewing by Moonlight. Em has provided downloadable templates for both the four “kites” and the squaring up of the quarter blocks. While the latter worked well in theory, I probably had taped the two pieces together in a slightly wonky way, because the first block made was challenging in its final stages to say the least. I barely had anything to trim off, so I decided to send both blocks untrimmed to Lizzie – in particular since I still don’t have a 12.5”x12.5” ruler.

When making the second block, I trimmed each quarter block an eight of an inch larger than necessary. This made it much easier to attempt creating perfect points in all intersections and I achieved this goal fairly well. At least I wasn’t ashamed to send my contributions to the Queen Bee. Another tricky thing with my machine is the not-so-great backstitching that it does, which caused me to tie knots rather than backstitch.

Challenges aside, the Spiderweb blocks were fun to make, but I think I won’t make a whole quilt with this technique, not by myself at least. The process is fairly slow, when you strive for perfect pattern placements, and also want somewhat harmonious-looking blocks. And of course that’s how I roll, in both good and bad.

NWF One-hour basket 2015-03-23I see time and time again how I prefer quality over quantity, and it’s okay. Clearly, I still feel torn about not cranking out stuff in large volumes, but I think it’s also to do with the fact that quilts are large and sometimes daunting projects. This probably holds true in particular because I have two sampler quilts in the making, which means learning new techniques in each block. Yesterday’s quick 1-hour basket showed me that I should keep making smaller, much quicker projects next to the larger ones, to feel like I’m making constant progress, regardless of speed. Maybe it also has something to do with the fact that in my professional life I only have huge projects going on at the moment, and if my leisure is characterised by equally slow progress, it’s easier to feel overwhelmed, disappointed in a sense, and slightly frustrated as well. Something worth chewing on for sure! How do you deal with this? Not think about it at all? I’m possibly over-analysing things here… Wouldn’t be the first time for it to happen :)

Lizzie updated her Instagram yesterday with a photo of my stuff for her, so now I can let out a sigh of relief that nothing got lost in transit. Check out the other Spiderweb blocks in the Scandibee Flickr pool if you like! They are gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

