Around the World Blog Hop

900px-Earth_Eastern_Hemisphere

My bee buddy Swedish Scrapper asked me whether I’d like to participate in the Around the World Blog Hop and I said yes, because it sounds like fun! It’s taken some time to get this post up, first because of illness and then since I haven’t found anyone to pass the torch on to.

If you haven’t participated yet, but would like to, please let me know in the comments and I’ll edit this intro to include a link to your blog! In the meantime, I’d like to direct you to a friend of mine, Kristy’s blog where she posted her answers earlier this year. She writes her own lovely patterns and as a matter of fact is having a sale currently.

EDIT: New quilter found via Instragram. Meet ArtL8dY, who will participate in the blog hop with a post!

The questions are these:

  1. What are you currently working on?
  2. How does my work differ from others?
  3. Why do you write/create what you do?
  4. How does your creative process work?

Let’s begin!

What are you currently working on?

I write monthly project posts to keep them organised and as realistic as possible. I have a crazy amount of different stuff going on in all areas of life and when planning it is easy to view each part separately from the other ones, which can result in too optimistic ideas of one’s capabilities within a certain time frame.

Flickr foryoudesigns 640My December projects therefore got pared down a bit compared to the ones I hoped to either move forward or finish entirely in November. Currently I’m working on a mug rug for the Scandibee Christmas swap as well as gifts for the holidays. There are no photos to show yet :)

In the making there is also a project pdf for managing quilting bee contributions, which I intend to sell at an affordable price. I’m putting the last touch on it as we speak and it should be for sale later this week. I’m really excited about it because I don’t think there is anything similar out there currently.

How does my work differ from others?

NWF Hand Embroidery - Sampler 2 Looped stitchesMany quilters are just that, quilters, but I like other crafts, too, such as general sewing, knitting, embroidery, and working with digital stuff. I would LOVE to learn how to sew my own clothes in a minimalistic style and you can look at my Project 333 board on Pinterest if you like. Regarding Pinterest, I try very hard to pin in a clear manner so that followers can decide which boards are of interest to them. Oh, and I’m Solsken Design on there, not Nina With Freckles, as I had to pick different social media for the two (can’t keep up with double of everything in all places).

I’m also working on building a small business out of this experience, which is something I have in common with even fewer people. My style is striving to become rather clean and minimalist; what I believe is the style Modern Quilt Guild is ultimately trying to push into the world. Focus will be on negative space and quite a lot of solid colours rather than patterned fabrics, but it’s still in the making only because the current fabric stash is mostly full of patterns.

In other words, I’m buzzing of ideas for quilt patterns to make and also there’s a bunch of ideas for embroidery patterns. Everything starts from breaking down stuff into manageable chunks, though, so it will take some time before you see it all come together here.

12 Days of Design SpoonchallengeSpoonflower is hosting a fabric-design challenge as we speak and I’m participating in it in an attempt to find out whether fabric design is for me or not. So far I’m having fun and there will be a post on my progress during days 3 and 4 later today.

Lastly, I think I differ quite a bit from many others in that I get overwhelmed from the mere thought of cranking out something crafty on a daily basis. In fact, I blogged about it not too long ago.

Why do you write/create what you do?

NWF Let's talk hexagons 2014-12-01I keep this blog not for myself only but for the enjoyment of others. By this I mean that I hope I create different sorts of original content that will inspire, teach, and provoke to new thoughts. I love doing research on various technical topics such as what sewing needle one should use in which context, how to wind the thread on a sewing machine the best way, and more. Recently I created a page with clickable pictures in a gallery for the purpose, since I think there’s no use if all information is accessible through tags and categories only; there’s too much to scroll through. In other words, “enjoyment of others”.

NWF Create your collage 2014-03-07Take a look at my other blog pages, too, some of which are under construction still and others, such as the fabric palette gallery, are completely up-to-date now. The idea is that if you can’t keep up with this place on a frequent basis, you’ll have easy access later on to what might interest you. My fabric palettes are an exception in that I usually only make them for myself and within rules that I set (unless I participate in a contest).

Through blogging I’ve made some good internet friends and Instagram has opened even more doors. It is a pleasure interacting with these people around the world and the most recent addition is Scandibee, which you can find on Flickr as well as Instagram under that hashtag. All ladies are in Europe and most are in Scandinavia. Quilting isn’t huge in Finland, so this international twist to my work is very welcome.

In short, I do this to grow and learn new things, including waltz outside of my comfort zone on a frequent basis. It’s not good to become too set in one’s ways, but the brain needs a decent airing out often.

How does your creative process work?

I’m not sure. I find inspiration in nature and in various man-made structures around me. Recently I saw a photo of a tattoo on a man’s back, which was made in minimalist Japanese style in black only and there certainly is a blackwork or other embroidery pattern in the making inspired by it. My collection of inspirational pictures is quite large at this point.

NinaWithFreckles - Hawthorn Threads palette 9Colour palettes are very important to me and while I’m learning still, I think my eye has already been trained quite a bit to see what stands out the wrong way and what works as a nice colour punch to put the dot on the i. I’m not satisfied with the concept of “it will do”, but will keep on tweaking until I’m pleased. And not even then will it always be “perfect”, but that’s when I have learned not to take out the seam ripper anymore.

As should be evident from the monthly project posts I mentioned earlier, I have lots of projects going on simultaneously. I tend to get bored easily and need something else to jump to then. For the longest of time I’ve thought of this tendency as not so great, but I’m trying to let go of ideals set by others as guidelines for their work. As long as the projects get done at some point, there is no problem, at least for me.

I could keep writing, because the questions are interesting, but instead I do as always, finish with a suggestion to comment and ask questions. I love questions and other forms of interactions here! Currently I have a backlog of other blogs to visit, but I follow them all on bloglovin’ and will get up-to-date before the year is over, so follow me there if you like. Thanks for reading and Happy Thursday to you!

9 thoughts on “Around the World Blog Hop

  1. ArtL8dY

    Hi. I discovered your blog because like you, I am taking the 12 Days of Design Challenge. I would be interested in the Blog Hop as well. I’ll be sure to bookmark your blog and revisit. You are very creative! ~ Sharon

    Reply
    1. Nina With Freckles Post author

      Hi Sharon, I think I recognise your alias from Instagram? I quickly scanned through the contributions to #spoonchallenge and believe I saw you there. Thanks for stopping by, will have to investigate further, as your alias implies something artsy, which I truly admire! I’m not artsy I think, but learning through trial and error new things :) Thanks for calling me creative, it put a smile on my face this Friday morning!

      I think the blog hop is for quilters to discover new quilting blogs. Or at least that’s the impression I have after reading a few contributions. Do you quilt?

      Reply
  2. Mary RC

    I love embroidery, too, Nina! I haven’t done any in awhile. When I was young I embroidered the shoulders of a blue work shirt (hippie days) with a sun (Sunshine on My Shoulders – John Denver).

    Do you you include embroidery in your quilting?

    Reply
    1. Nina With Freckles Post author

      Hi Mary, the picture you painted made me smile. No, I haven’t done that yet, but I’ve been meaning to try sashiko, Japanese embroidery, or similar to finish things by hand rather than machine quilting. It creates a lovely texture and can be as “punchy” or not as one desires.

      Reply
  3. Kristy Daum

    Your post and answers are great, and Thanks! for linking to me…you are too sweet! I’m intrigued to hear more about this Project PDF…you did have something secret afterall ;)

    I definitely think that you have a good handle on who you are, and what works and does not work for you. I think there are a lot of us that can learn from your minimalist style…even if you are still modifying it along the way.

    Reply
    1. Nina With Freckles Post author

      Oh Kristy, to think that that’s what you see here is marvellous! I actually didn’t have time to read your post, but merely linked to it, so it’s another treat waiting for me still.

      The pdf? It’s come to a halt because of personal matters, but I will crank it out either today or tomorrow! As for secret, I honestly didn’t even think of this as a secret project, because I had my mind set on pattern writing, heh. Guess it was a secret after all :)

      Reply
  4. Lizzie

    Wow, such a provocative post! I really enjoyed reading what you think about creating. I also love collage and experimenting with color. Lord knows, we need some this time of year!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

