Fabric palette #9

NinaWithFreckles - Hawthorn Threads palette 9

Since I’m about to partake in the Spoonflower design challenge, I thought it a good idea to look at fabrics again. Maureen Cracknell’s Luminous Field in Glow was the starting point this time. It is safe to say that a palette has never been this slow to assemble before, because I wanted to bring out all the colours found. I actually had to take a break because the scrolling and auditioning became so laborious.

The last piece found was Anna Maria Horner’s Echinacea and I was particularly pleased about it, because the red in Luminous Field is a tricky one. The only suitable red otherwise found is the one in Morning Keepsake, which I found when looking in the mustard section. All this I tell you because it was a Huge Undertaking to create this palette for your enjoyment. Huge. Which is also evident by all the text in this post, as I’m usually just posting the palette with links.

Here they are:

  1. Detour, Arrows in Blue by Bo Bunny for Riley Blake Designs.
  2. Fox Field, Baby Geo in Dusk by Tula Pink for Westminster / Free Spirit.
  3. Rapture, Hypnotic Paramour in Rose by Pat Bravo for Art Gallery Fabrics.
  4. Oval Elements in Sapphire by Pat Bravo for Art Gallery Fabrics.
  5. Dots, Medium Dots Tone on Tone in Green by Riley Blake Designs.
  6. Wild and Free, Luminous Field in Glow by Maureen Cracknell for Art Gallery Fabrics.
  7. Gramercy, Commute in Taxi by Leah Duncan for Art Gallery Fabrics.
  8. Heirloom, Marquis in Amethyst by Joel Dewberry for Westminster / Free Spirit.
  9. Lilly Belle, Rattan Bleu in Blush by Bari J. Ackerman for Art Gallery Fabrics.
  10. Dowry, Lineage in Taffy by Anna Maria Horner for Westminster / Free Spirit.
  11. Pretty Potent Flannel, Echinacea in Boost by Anna Maria Horner for Westminster / Free Spirit (or you can use cotton).
  12. Spot on Pearlized, Medium Spot in Peach by Robert Kaufman Fabrics.
  13. Alhambra II, Cashmere Cameo in Night by Pat Bravo for Art Gallery Fabrics.
  14. Botanics, Line Scratch in Blue by Carolyn Friedlander for Robert Kaufman Fabrics.
  15. Winged, Plumage in Apricot by Bonnie Christine for Art Gallery Fabrics.
  16. Wild and Free, Morning Keepsake in Sun by Maureen Cracknell for Art Gallery Fabrics.

Whilst working on this fabric palette I thought to myself that it was my wackiest one so far, that it would look really weird and that nobody would like it. I added – and deleted again – more candidates than ever before, and for some strange reason felt guilty about it, almost like I was saying no to an actual person. It’s not like I couldn’t use them in some other project *eyeroll*

Have you ever had this happen when you audition fabrics for your quilts or other projects? Do you get emotionally attached to them somehow? I seem to be doing a fine job of it…

2 thoughts on “Fabric palette #9

  1. Kristy Daum

    I totally get attached to certain fabrics, especially when those fabrics might have been the initial inspiration for a quilt, and then once I’ve auditioned the rest…the first doesn’t seem to fit anymore. It’s sad. Yet, on the other hand, sometimes when auditioning I am completely taken by surprise and end up pulling something that might be outside my usual comfort zone. Oh, and I totally bought a little bit of Maureen Cracknell’s line, it just looked so lovely sitting there.

    I love the addition of the Echinacea by AMH in your palette, that red is a perfect pop and compliments so many of the others.

    Reply
    1. Nina With Freckles Post author

      It’s fascinating how this craft is so emotional. When stuff doesn’t work, I get frustrated, angry even, and when everything just flows into this organic state of complete and utter prettiness, I swear I can hear birds chirp and horses whinnying, like stepping into Enchanted to become a cartoon.

      Oh, you “totally bought” some Maureen fabric? Yeah, now is the time :) I keep getting all these Black Friday slash Cyber Monday emails and to my great disappointment have to send all of it in the bin immediately or my heart breaks a bit. Thank goodness for window shopping and some fabric love through this palette channel, or I’d positively cry of misery.

      Thanks for the Twitter and Instagram love, by the way! It’s much appreciated. I’m swamped and am taking a break – by creating that much-anticipated gallery for these palettes. The page is Fabrcis > My fabric palettes.

      I absolutely will write a tutorial once I’m done figuring all of it out, because if someone can’t figure it out immediately, the work to get everything neatly lined up is somewhat horrific and they will benefit from seeing how it’s been done.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

