Placemats have backings

NWF Placemat backings 2014-11-12

My placemats have been in the making for quite some time, partly due to not having had a walking foot until late last year, and then stuff sort of happened, just like it does. Today I’ve dug out a piece of a flat sheet for a bed and cut it up. The size was perfect for this project and the colour fits quite nicely, too, don’t you think?

While it looks like there’s enough material for only one placemat, I cut and pressed all six backings. Honest :) The kitchen table, which you’ve been introduced to already, is white and obviously you won’t see the un-bleached cotton once the placemats are in use, but it’s nice to know that top and bottom suit one another. I’m silly like that.

Another thing that is clear to me today is the reason for my saving just about any piece of fabric one can think of. When I’m still learning new techniques, I don’t want to use the precious materials, but repurposed bedlinen or an old curtain will do perfectly. I’d love to bind these like quilts, but there’s so much in my inherited hoard that I’ll make a dent in the section of the brown, beige, and black bias tapes.

What else has been going on? I finished the Sound Wave block for the Skill Builder BOM 2013 quilt on Monday, but will make the Magnum block before writing a post. There will be another post about the quilt-as-you-go free-motion quilting phase, too, so I want to keep the amount of individual posts to a minimum.

Anyway, it’s been a long day and I’m not up for cutting the batting anymore, so that will be covered when I have something quilted to show. Happy Hump Day!

2 thoughts on “Placemats have backings

    1. Nina With Freckles Post author

      What a nice comment :) It is like you say, moving right along with the WIPs, because I don’t feel overwhelmed at all now that I have the list again. It’s like I can breathe a bit more freely somehow and have fun whilst sewing.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

