MQG Michael Miller fabric challenge

NWF MQG fabric challenge - Michael Miller Petal Pinwheels

The Modern Quilt Guild sent out fat eighths to members, who signed up for the Michael Miller fabric challenge in early spring, and I got these cheerful fabrics a while ago.

The challenge ends in late July and I finally have an idea for a pattern. I’ll be making a mini quilt of wall hanging size and the design is my own.

First I thought I’d have to order some fusible stuff for the appliqué, but earlier today I happened to start watching again Cheryl Arkison’s excellent Craftsy class on circles and took a deep sigh of relief; I can use freezer paper as template.

The dark grey fabric is from another line whereas the red is a basic solid by them, but we have “Petal Pinwheels” here and those are the ones that I’ll be working with and the red:

  • Petal Garland in Seafoam (small leafy type)
  • Petal Pinwheels in Canary (huge flowers)
  • Tile Pile in Sunset (warm yellow)
  • Pegs a Plenty in Multi (multi-coloured rectangles)

I’m excited to be working on this!

2 thoughts on “MQG Michael Miller fabric challenge

Leave a Reply

