Back at the sewing table

After a long absence I’m finally back at my sewing table and while I’m still facing various challenges in life, I’ve found consolation in making my first fabric palette in a long time. I hope you enjoy it (will post in a bit).

I have yet to fondle my own stash, but there’s a voice telling me I’ll be like a kid in a candy store. The two last issues of “Love Patchwork & Quilting” had arrived yet remained unread, since it made me feel too bad about looking at the colourful projects without having the chance to act upon any ideas I might have had. This weekend, however, I finally dived into them and what a treat!

Sad news is that I won’t be able to go to Austin next year after all. Reading through the instructor list makes me want to scream of disappointment, but such is life. I had looked forward to it for months, but hopefully they make some videos again of at least some of the conference.

Anyway, I hope to finish some works in progress shortly and come back with a photo or two later. Wish everyone a good start on the summer!

4 thoughts on “Back at the sewing table

  1. Kristy Daum

    I’m happy to hear that you have been playing with fabric again. I’m sad to hear that you won’t be travelling to QuiltCon, would have loved to meet you in person; but there is always 2017. Keep your spirits up and looking forward to seeing another post from you soon.

    Reply
  2. Christine Slaughter

    I’m so sorry your plans for QuiltCon have had to change. Perhaps life is just wanting you to wait for the perfect QuiltCon event at a later time (sorry… I try to be a glass half-full person but that isn’t always helpful!) I won’t be at QuiltCon either. I actually need to wait until my kids are grown and out of the house. The timing of the event is such that they’re in school and there’s just no way to be there for the kids and take the time for myself to enjoy the QuiltCon event. The youngest only has 5 years left until she graduates from High School (not that I’m counting…LOL).

    I do enjoy seeing your palettes, even though I don’t always comment. It’s always so nice to see how others put fabrics together. I’m glad you were able to dive into your Love Patchwork & Quilting Magazines. I completely love to get them too, but was so busy the last two months that I barely flipped through the pages. I agree they are so colorful and spark lots of creativity!

    Have a wonderful day, and I hope you’ll get to pet your fabric soon!

    Reply
    1. Nina With Freckles Post author

      Thanks Christine, I’ve had some bad news yesterday and it’s been a couple of really rough days, but I still see that silver lining, too. There’s no point in going all “woe is me” even amidst the most terrible of events, doesn’t do anyone any good. So I’m trying to mend my heart as soon as possible and while I haven’t had the energy to actually sew yet, I’ve watched a bunch of Craftsy classes in preparation of making a dent in the WIP pile :) We can meet at QC once your young one’s have flown from the nest; they will eventually!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

