Code: Armonika Cowl – Casting on

There’s a free pattern on Ravelry for a cowl called Code: Armonika and unfortunately I can’t post a photo, since it’s copyrighted, but here’s to say I’m casting on today, woohoo!

In the meantime, you can look at the yarn I’ll use.

NWF Debbie Bliss Rialto Aran

Debbie Bliss Rialto Aran in Mustard

The colour is Mustard and it’s best described as the basic Dijon with a nice dash of beige to tone down the intense yellow. It’s difficult to photograph and the best effort is what I’m showing here.

Happy Friday to everyone! What are you working on right now?

4 thoughts on “Code: Armonika Cowl – Casting on

    1. Nina With Freckles Post author

      Hi Megan-Anne, I have troubles with jewellery, too; red and violet in particular are super difficult to photograph well. In fact, I have some unlisted in my shop still for this very reason. I just took a peek at your blog and oh my, you’re accomplished with the colourwork! I have yet to try multiple colours, but one day…

      Reply
      1. Megan-Anne

        I promise, it isn’t as hard as it seems! I was intimidated by things like double-sided knitting at first. Once I actually sat down and tried it a few times (I made soooo many bookmarks), I realized I was just psyching myself out and that it wasn’t so bad. You can do it! :D

        Reply
        1. Nina With Freckles Post author

          You’re absolutely right. I read some comments recently on Ravelry by someone, who spent decades being scared of colourwork. Once they finally stepped outside of their comfort zone and tried it, they concluded those decades were a bit of a waste, since they enjoyed this technique so much.

          That’s exactly why I’m trying to keep this blog running, because it reminds me each time to push a bit more, allow myself to feel like I don’t have control and also notice nothing bad will happen other than perhaps some ripping. Worst case scenario is I’d have to discard the yarn if it’s a type that can’t be ripped out nicely…

          I know I sound like a walking advertisement for Craftsy at this point, but those video classes sure have helped me gain confidence. Now I’m also more prone to try things out on my own :)

          Reply

Leave a Reply

