Hurricane head

NWF Hurricane hat - Progress 1

Hurricane Hat

I’m so excited to show what I’ve been working on that I’ll post the preludes another day and go straight to my project now! It’s the Hurricane Hat, a pattern by Andrea Goutier, who blogs at Love, Hestia. The pattern came up in an advanced search of the Ravelry pattern database and caught my attention because of the swirls.

The yarn is an Aran-weight Blue Faced Leicester in plum colour by Debbie Bliss, 75 metres per 50 g. It’s pleasant to knit with and I wouldn’t mind using it again, as it doesn’t seem too itchy against my skin either.

NWF Hurricane hat - Yarn

Plum-coloured aran-weight Blue Faced Leicester, Debbie Bliss

While the pattern is written for worsted (aka aran) yarn and 4.5 mm needles, I decided to go up a size and use 5 mm needles, which is also the recommendation on the yarn label. My head is larger than an average female size and doing a test run of the hat knitted so far makes me convinced it will fit nicely.

I have some old circular needles that are impossibly difficult to use, so in the bag went not only two balls of yarn on sale, but Addi circular needles, as well. They are a dream to use and I even get to practice the magic-loop method, since they are on the longer side.

Now there’s less than an inch left to knit until I can start decreasing and in the meantime I need to buy double-point needles. I just can’t believe how quickly a hat like this knits, it seems so complicated but truly is a beginner pattern!

Leave a Reply

