Pile O’ Fabric Skill Builder Block of the Month 2013

NinaWithFreckles - PileOFabric Skill BOM fabrics

A few days ago I stumbled upon the Skill Builder Block of the Month 2013 by Alyssa of Pile O’ Fabric and it’s unusual in that not only has she designed some unique blocks herself but she also introduces quilting as you go (QAYG) to those of us, who haven’t tried it before. Please look at the quilt design here, Alyssa’s material is copyrighted unless pinned to Pinterest.

Craftsy - Leah Day - Free motion quilting a sampler

Since I’ve never quilted anything in my life, QAYG seems like quite a nice way to learn how to quilt. The size is an individual 12”x12” block, which feels quite doable, much less daunting than a whole quilt at once. I’ve signed up for Leah Day’s Free Motion Quilting a Sampler class to learn lots of different ways to quilt the Craftsy BOM 2012 quilt by Amy Gibson and while Leah’s class seems really good, it’s still dealing with a large quilt.

I’ll start my quilting from a couple of mug rugs, then move on to the place mats by Elizabeth Hartman. After I’ve practiced straight lines and using the walking foot, even a baby quilt seems huge, so this Skill Builder BOM feels like a good thing right now. Simultaneously I can work on the quilt backs for Fit for a Princess! and Piece of Cake 3 as well as keep making the Craftsy BOM 2012 blocks, so it works out very well.

The first step of this BOM is to pick a colour scheme as well as individual fabrics. I’ve done that yesterday evening and the photo above displays my choice. I was inspired by my blue and orange fabric palette, but currently I don’t have many fabrics in blue, yellow, orange nor violet, so a slow speed will allow me to purchase as I go.

Learning from past mistakes I won’t commit to a schedule set in stone, but I’ll work on this quilt when I feel like it. This doesn’t translate to me being any less excited, though, and I welcome participation from everyone else, who hasn’t tried QAYG before. There are also techniques practiced that I’m not familiar with yet, so it’s yet another great reason to join in. Will you join? Scribble a comment below if you need support through the proccess!

3 thoughts on “Pile O’ Fabric Skill Builder Block of the Month 2013

      1. LauraC

        It is very cute and I am very tempted. I know exactly what you mean though; I signed up to be in the Stash Bee for 2014 too. If there was only more time in the day:)

        Reply

Leave a Reply

