Tokyo scraps!

I knew I had a thought cooking! Due to an increasing amount of scraps, I’ve been pondering different projects for them, but something wasn’t quite right, I just couldn’t put my finger on it.

Today it finally hit me; the Tokyo Subway Map Quilt by Elizabeth Hartman! It was the first modern quilt I ever saw and it made me take a new direction in my life. It’s the ultimate scrap buster, as well, and I’ve just gone through the scrap strips produced during cutting for the Piece of Cake 3, Fit for a Princess!, and Charm Square quilts. Many scraps are long enough to produce some 2” x 2” squares, but they aren’t quite tall enough, and others aren’t monochromatic, but some do fit the criteria.

On the quilt, there are 10 lines; red, orange, yellow, light green, dark green, light blue, dark blue, purple, pink, and grey. There are also black stops and LOTS of white background. When looking at the very large photo of the quilt top, I would say Elizabeth has picked lots of turquoisy fabrics for the light blue line, whereas blueish fabrics are in the dark blue line. I think I’ll do this differently and put the light, “low-intensity” fabrics in the light blue line, while the dark line would consist of dark, “high-intensity” fabrics, regardless of blue or turquoise tone.

She has a bit of a similar division between light green and dark green. The yellowy greens are in the light green line, whereas the mossy, cooler greens make up the dark green line. My spontaneous idea once again is to use “intensity” rather than warmth of colour as selection factor for the two lines. Other than these deviations, I’ll most likely do like in the original quilt.

At this point, I have scraps of all colours but orange and black, so now there’s a little pile waiting to get cut and put into small ziplock baggies. Next time that I produce new scraps, I’ll compare them to the already existing collection and if they fit with the cut squares, they’ll join the growing stash. Otherwise I’ll just forget about them and never get this Tokyo quilt made.

Scraps are magical. It almost feels like there is more potential in a smaller piece of fabric than in large cuts.

Leave a Reply

