Knitting Ain’t My BFF

Knitting and I, well, we are aquaintances. To say that we are friends would be going much too far and I honestly can only dream of ever having the mutual best friends forever status with that method of bending yarn.

After my grandmother passed away, I inherited this and that from her huge crafting stash and some yarn skeins were among the things. I don’t particularly care for synthetic fibers and, once those had been donated, not much remained for me to use, but I’m determined to tackle this noble art with gusto. Even when the result is less than, um, ah I don’t know how to put it delicately – it’s wonky, okay!

Wait until you see the overview…

This yarn isn’t from the grandma stash, but I’ve bought two skeins of it. It is oh so soft and a fabulous petroleum colour, which doesn’t show very well in the photos. The pattern is something that I came up with myself, as the requirement was to practice an easy repeat and on top of that I should be able to count from the already knitted piece what kind of stitch to do next. I found a smaller-sized square pattern in a knitting book, but decided to make it slightly larger, and the rest was pure improvisation.

I still have the second skein to use and might make the scarf a quite long one, will see how things go. Regardless, I’ve challenged myself in November (or was it October even?) to finish the scarf by New Year’s. That didn’t happen.

What happened, though, was that I located the project on 6th January and took the photos. The second skein is still somewhere in my mansion (studio apartment when being more realistic). I will finish the scarf by next New Year’s!

6 thoughts on “Knitting Ain’t My BFF

    1. Nina With Freckles Post author

      Thank you! You are very kind :D For some reason I just can’t picture a time when I have total control of the yarn tension. In school, we had to make a scarf, mittens with parts for each finger (whatever they are called), leg warmers in true 80’s style, and sewed items too, a real pain in the behind!

      Reply
      1. paulineos

        Knitting under your own control is more relaxing and therefore it becomes easier to develop a feeling for tension- why not try a knitting group for fun and moral support?

        Reply
      2. Nina With Freckles Post author

        That is a great idea and I do have a support group for anything yarn already, but it is virtual. I think I’ll start looking for some local groups, would b nice to meet new people!

        Reply
    1. Nina With Freckles Post author

      Thanks for the thumb up! I feel like such a novice, but believe it is good to get out of one’s comfort zone once in a while. I didn’t know what purl means, learned a new word today!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

