Charm Squares Baby Quilt for E

I have been looking for a simple quilt pattern that even a newbie like me has a chance to grind through without making a complete mess out of the end result. I believe I have found the holy grail (well, it really feels like it because my soul has been on fire for the past few hours!) in Elizabeth Hartmann’s Charm Squares Baby Quilt (the first tutorial at Sew, Mama, Sew!). She has on her own web page posted other articles on the same quilt pattern here and here too. I, however, am using the updated tutorial, which can be found here, with some more pretty quilts to peek at and be inspired by.

Quite a few of my dear friends are expecting a first or second child or have recently given birth, so this has been a fantastic incentive for me to commit to learning the craft for real. During the past couple of days, I have been rummaging through three books on quilting that I have as well as one on sewing (more on these in another post). The internet has also been a great resource, since I actually ended up making a decent purchase at Sew, Mama, Sew! only a while ago.

Placement and size of individual pieces before sewing

This is my mock-up of the Charm Squares Baby Quilt for E that I will start making as soon as the fabrics arrive. In the meantime, I will have to find a couple of rulers with inch measures as the ones I have with centimeter will not work. I do have a nicely sized cutting mat and a basic rotary cutter, but oh my how I am longing for the beautiful fabrics to arrive! I have a hunch that the cutting mat might be tested with some scrap fabric rather soon.

The fabrics that I will use are (left row, starting from upper left corner):

  • Cynthia Pink from the Taza fabric collection by Dena Designs for Free Spirit
  • Stripes Pink from the Happier fabric collection by Deena Rutter for Riley Blake Designs
  • Wallpaper Marigold from the Metro Living fabric collection from Robert Kaufman
  • Doughnut Dot Marigold from the Treasures and Tidbits fabric collection by Piece O Cake Designs for Robert Kaufman
  • Cute Bots Pink from the I Heart fabric collection by Rashida Coleman Hale for Timeless Treasures

Not shown:

  • Sashing: White 1387 Kona Cotton from Robert Kaufman
  • Binding: Bright Pink 1049 Kona Cotton from Robert Kaufman
  • Backing: Floral Pink from the Hoo’s in the Forest fabric collection by Doohikey Designs for Riley Blake

Elizabeth has written a very clear tutorial on the piecing and she has made available other tutorials on her web site, as well, so with some concentration I might actually pull this one off. Can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

